How to Prepare for Judiciary Exams in 2022?

The Judicial Service Examination provides a prestigious job and secure future. Besides, it gives an opportunity to the candidates to serve the country. Thousands of students appear for Judicial Service Examination every year, but only those who study with a purpose and according to a plan, succeed. For Preliminary examination, the focus remains on the bare Acts thoroughly, whereas, in Mains examination, conceptual clarity of law is needed. In the Personal Interview round, apart from the thorough knowledge of the current affairs and basic understanding of the general knowledge, the focus should be on various important concepts of law as specified under IPC, CPC, CRPC, and Evidence Act. 

What is Judicial Service Examination?

Judicial Service Examinations are also popularly known as PCS(J), which is an abbreviation for Provincial Civil Service Judicial Examination. It is the entry-level exam for law graduates to become members of the subordinate judiciary. The members are appointed based on the judiciary exam by the state government under the supervision of the respective high court.

Judicial Services Examination: Eligibility Criteria

Lower Judiciary Services – The judiciary exam eligibility criteria for appearing in Lower Judicial Services Examination is mentioned below:


  • Degree in LL.B
  • The candidate should be enrolled or qualified to be enrolled as an Advocate under the Advocates’ Act 1961.
  • No experience is required and the final year candidates can also appear for the examination. 

Age Limit: The age limit varies according to the state you are applying from. It is usually between 21-35 years.

Higher Judicial Services – The eligibility criteria for Higher Judicial Service Exam is given below:


  • Candidates must be graduates in law.
  • Must have a minimum year of experience in litigating practice; usually 7. 

Age Limit: The candidates’ age should be between 21-35 years.  

Also read: List of Top Law Entrance Exams in India 2022

Judicial Service Examination: Structure of the exam

The Judicial Service Exam is conducted in three stages, namely Preliminary Examination, Mains, and Viva-Voce/Interview.

Preliminary Examination – The Preliminary exam serves as a screening for the mains exam. It comprises objective-type questions. The marks obtained in this exam are not considered for the final selection. The percentages of qualifying marks vary from state to state. The minimum marks for the Preliminary exam are 60% for the general category and 55% for reserved categories.

Mains Examination – The Mains examination is a subjective paper. It mainly comprises 3-4 papers. The marks secured in this exam are counted for the final selection. Candidates equal to thrice the number of vacancies are called for the Personal Interview. 

Viva-Voce/Personal Interview – This is the final round of the selection process. The candidates are assessed on the basis of their personality, general interest, and intelligence, among other factors.

Judicial Services Examination: Syllabus

The syllabus of the Judiciary exams in India varies across states. It is divided into Civil law, Criminal Law, and Language paper. The weightage of Language paper is around 20-35 percent. The Mains exam constitutes six to seven papers, and approx 70 percent of the questions are of law.

Also read: CLAT, LSAT and AILET Comparison | Law Exams

Judicial Services Examination: Scope

The position of the Judge is the most reputable post in the Indian Legal System. Candidates appointed through Judicial Services Examination enjoys secure career with lucrative salaries. The first level is Lower Judicial service for fresh graduates selected through an entrance exam conducted by the respective State Public Service Commission (Rajasthan, UP, MP, etc.) or the high courts (Delhi). An entry through this assures promotions at regular intervals and secured tenure. The second level is Higher Judicial Service for practicing lawyers. The selected candidates get posted as Additional District Judges, and their promotion is faster. 

The candidates appointed as Civil Judge (junior division) have the powers of Judicial Magistrate (Second Class), and those promoted to Chief Judicial Magistrate (CJM) have the powers of Judicial Magistrate (First Class). The candidates who are appointed as Additional District and Session Judge are posted to High Court and to the Supreme Court, in an exceptional case.

The Last Word 

Judicial service is a valuable option for those who aim to serve the people of our country. But as mentioned above, you are required to clear the Judicial Service Examination before you are given that honor. So prepare for the exam with dedication and determination, and we’re sure you’ll make it through.